Make Beauty Powder

4 Apr
Last time I was at the herb farm I picked up a recipe for Lavender Rose Beauty Powder and a little package of kaolin clay powder, the recipes’s main ingredient.  I went home and whipped some up without really thinking about what I was going to do with the stuff when I finished.  It took about five minutes to mix before I found myself with a cupful of the stuff, which was basically baby powder that smelled a little less perfume-y that the standard stuff you buy at the store.  Kaolin clay is also preferable to traditional talcum powder since it doesn’t contain the harmful-when-inhaled ingredients that talcum powder does.
That’s all well and good, but I found myself looking at the nice smelling white powder and wondering just what I was going to do with the stuff.  After a quick romp through the endless fields of google, I came up with these uses:
  • sprinkle it over your sheets during the summer to soak up your sweat
  • use as a dry shampoo for pets and humans alike
  • sprinkle them in stanky shoes and powder sweaty feet
  • use as a dry deodorant
  • sprinkle in sweaty places prone to rash or chafing
  • dust over body after a bath to absorb moisture and sweat
Wow.  For something as sweet sounding as Lavender Rose Beauty Powder, this stuff has the least romantic list of uses I’ve ever seen. Without even trying I managed to use the words sweaty, rash and chafing in the same phrase.  This stuff sounds froofy, but it’s all utilitarian.

Lavender-Rose Beauty Powder

  • 1 cup kaolin clay powder
  • 1/8 cup dried ground rose petals
  • 1/8 cup dried ground lavender flowers
  • 1/4 teaspoon lavender essential oil

Combine dried ingredients in a glass bowl, blending well.  Add essential oils and mix completely.

For more recipes like this one, visit the Apothecary Page.

One Response to “Make Beauty Powder”

  1. kimberlysawczuk April 4, 2011 at 11:09 pm #

    hahaha, too funny!!

Leave a Reply

