Cocktail of the Week: Salty Dog with Cardamom Vodka

3 May

Recently, I made a batch of vodka infused with cardamom and grapefruit, inspired by an article I saw in Living.  On the very day it was finished infusing, a friend of mine asked me my opinion regarding the best cocktail to drink during brunch.  Of course, my mind first went to Bloody Mary’s and Mimosas, but both seemed so obvious (though, don’t get me wrong, still delicious), I felt compelled to give a slightly less traditional answer. I suggested the Salty Dog, a mixture of vodka and grapefruit juice served in a glass rimmed in salt like a margarita.  I’m a fan of basically any grapefruit-based anything, so this really is a favorite.  The additional flavor of the cardamom from the infused vodka adds a nice nutty spiciness to the drink. We enjoyed it on the dock behind the house we rented in Edisto.

photo by Shawn Poynter

Cardamom and Grapefruit Infused Vodka

  • 1.5 cups vodka
  • 2 strips grapefruit zest
  • 1 tablespoon coriander seeds, toasted and coarsely ground.

Add zest and coriander to vodka, store in an airtight jar and infuse for 3 days. Strain before drinking.

Salty Dog

  • 4 ounces grapefruit juice
  • 2 ounces vodka
  • Cut lemon
  • Salt
  • 2 or 3 ice cubes
Rub the rim of a glass with lemon, then spin upside-down in salt. Add the ice cubes, vodka and grapefruit juice and stir gently to mix.


2 Responses to “Cocktail of the Week: Salty Dog with Cardamom Vodka”

  1. Matt Anderson May 3, 2011 at 3:14 pm #

    This actually sounds pretty good, and I’m usually a vodka hater. You’ve just kinda inspired me to infuse vodka with . . . things!

  2. Elizabeth May 3, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

    Is there a name for a salty dog with sugar on the rim instead of salt? When I was a kid, I would “sprinkle” sugar on my grapefruit half until there was about an inch of juicy sugar on top. It was one of my favorite breakfast treats. I still like to eat my grapefruit with sugar, but I don’t pour it on quite so liberally now that I’m a grownup. Or maybe a mixture of salt and sugar on the rim?

Leave a Reply

