Make a Card for Your Mom

6 May

My mom’s coming to visit this weekend for Mother’s Day, and in addition to a fancy dinner and some homemade bath products, I thought I should make her a little card.  I wanted to make something cute and meaningful and for inspiration started thinking of special experiences we’ve had together.

One of my favorite stories to tell about my mom involves her agreeing to let me get a tattoo on my 17th birthday, under the conditions that she go with me and that it match the tattoo she’d just gotten a year or so before.  My mom went 50 years without getting a tattoo.  Now she has three.  This is one of the things I love about her- she does things in her own time and her own way.  She’s also just totally cool.  She was naturally apprehensive about letting her underage daughter get inked, but when I came up with the idea to get a tattoo that matched hers, she couldn’t argue that it would always have meaning for me and I’d never regret getting it.  So we did, and I still love my tattoo and the fact I got it with my mom.

In honor of this, I decided to make a stamp with the traditional mom tattoo (not what we got, by the way).  I’m pretty happy with how it turned out. Here’s a tutorial on making your own stamp.

4 Responses to “Make a Card for Your Mom”

  1. Matt Anderson May 10, 2011 at 4:00 pm #

    This reminded me of a hand carved stamp that I haggled out of a kid in India. I haven’t used it and I really brought it back to give to someone as a gift. I think you’d put it to use/appreciate it. So Dale Mackey, I want to mail this to you:

    https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/r_iVYMiQb5aqp5CaOXAkxrBOOO440lVAWSb8oXmxITc

  2. Dale May 10, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

    Really??? That’s so beautiful!

  3. Matt Anderson May 10, 2011 at 4:39 pm #

    Yeah for sure. I have like 20 or so more tubes of henna paste I brought back too if you want a tube or so?

  4. mackeyda May 10, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

    Sure! It’s like Christmas!!

Leave a Reply

