Give Yourself a Steam

17 May

I’ve been feeling a little off the past few weeks– tired, anxious, kind of achy.  Yesterday after work I wanted to give myself a little treat but couldn’t think of what to do.  I was thinking how great it would be to go get a massage or sit in a steam room for a little when I remembered reading about giving yourself a facial steam at home.

All you have to do is:

  1. fill a pot or pan with an inch or two of water and bring it to a boil.
  2. once it boils, remove it from the heat and add a few drops of your favorite essential oil (or a combination of two).
  3. let it sit for a minute, then with a towel over your head, lean over the pot or pan and revel in the wonder that is steam heat and good smelling oil.

It feels amazing, is good for your skin and takes three minutes.  I’ve already done another one this morning.

photo by Shawn Poynter (I know it has nothing to do with the post, but it sort of looks like steam maybe and you really wouln't enjoy a picture of me with a towel over my head hunched over the countertop)

For more recipes like this one, check out the Apothecary page.

One Response to “Give Yourself a Steam”

  1. Shawn Poynter May 17, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    Love the post, but I disagree with you about liking a photo of you steaming. I may have one of those in the archive. Will check.

    Seriously, this steaming business is for real. It’s worth being dragged from slumber to the steam room (kitchen).

Leave a Reply

