Watch a Movie in Your Backyard

8 Jun

Ok, so I’ve made it very clear that I love watching movies outside. First I urged you to go to the drive-in. Then I told you about watching a movie outside the night before a friend’s wedding. Please pardon the redundancy of this post, but I cannot tell you enough just how wonderful I find enjoying a movie outdoors.

I was traveling this weekend and was delighted to come to a great surprise: my sweetheart had set up an outdoor movie theatre, using a projector, outdoor speakers we hadn’t been using, and a white curtain pinned up to our fence. It was the best way to be welcomed home. It’s just so dang cool to be outside and also watching a movie. They’re two of my favorite things and when they are made no longer mutually exclusive, I’m a very happy lady.

photo by Shawn Poynter

Listen to me, people: See if your town has a drive-through nearby. Check if any organization provides free outdoor movies in the summer. I know Knoxville and Chicago do. See if anyone you know has a projector you can borrow and scrounge up a white sheet. Pony up some money and rent an inflatable screen for an outdoor party. I don’t care how you do it, but make plans to watch a movie outside this summer, ok?

One Response to “Watch a Movie in Your Backyard”

  1. Adrienne June 14, 2011 at 11:27 pm #

    That would be awesome. I’m thinking movie and a summer bbq?! Yeeeah, sounds about right:)

Leave a Reply

