Make Window Cork Strip

26 Aug

My desk is great- it’s made from a door we took off one of the frames in the house, it’s huge and (my most favorite part) it faces the window.  Some people prefer not to face a window because of glare and distraction, but I say bring. it. on.  I love having things to gaze at while I’m bored and working and I love the light, especially in the morning (when I usually blog before heading to work).

There’s only one problem with my little arrangement- there’s no where for me to post notes and lists on the wall in front of my desk.  I tried adding strings with cards pinned to them on either side of the windows to alleviate this problem, but while I love this, it’s purely decorative and doesn’t help with posting reminders and more utilitarian-type notes.

It occurred to me this week I didn’t need a full-blown cork board- I could buy cork squares, cut them to the width of the wood strip between my two windows and stick them to the wall to create a surface for pinning.  Hooray!

3 Responses to “Make Window Cork Strip”

  1. Lois Lafferty-Gude August 26, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    You rock, Dale!! This is a great, useful and creative solution!!
    I sometimes use the little Command poster strips, but this is much handier and easier to change out items!!
    I did have a piece of paper stick (annoyingly) to one of those Command strips recently, so this is a work in progress for me too!!
    Thanks for sharing and for the beautiful photos!

  2. Dale August 26, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

    Glad this is helpful!

  3. Cathy August 28, 2011 at 12:51 am #

    Oh, I love your desk and the window!!! I’d die for that window. That’s my biggest complaint about my work area – no window to look out. Great solution for notes, too – love it!

Leave a Reply

