Make Tea (and grow Stevia)!

22 Sep

This summer I bought a Stevia plants which I planted and then promptly forgot about.  Stevia is an herb in the sunflower family most notable for its very sweet leaves.  Apparently it’s ten times sweeter than sugar, is all natural and has no calories to speak of.  The future-husband and I went for a walk today and upon returning home, I noticed the Stevia plant that I’d been ignoring for months and decided to finally put it to some use.

I had a fantastic evening planned out, during which I would do nothing other than making soup, doing some crafting and playing with our new kitten.  I decided to use said Stevia for a cup of tea to fortify me for these exciting ventures.  I decided upon a calming mix of chamomile and lavender and used the Stevia as a nice subtle sweetener.

Calming Tea

  • 1 tablespoon dried chamomile
  • 1 teaspoon dried lavender
  • 5 leaves fresh Stevia (bruised- folded, crushed, smashed with a spoon)

Pace ingredients in tea strainer or linen bag and add to about one half cup of boiling water.  Let steep for ten minutes, remove strainer and sip.

For more recipes like this one, check out the Domesticity page.

Leave a Reply

