Open Road Project: I and Mine in Charlotte, NC

7 Oct
When I’m on a vacation, be it a month-long backpacking trip or weekend jaunt, each day I plan to leave a section of Walt Whitman’s Song of the Open Road. I might leave it in a B&B guestbook, tuck a note behind a hotel painting or write it on a dollar bill I spend at a hot dog stand. In any case, I’ll be tracking where I leave the poem here. I call it The Open Road Project.  Click on the stanzas below to find out where they’ve been left and track the poem’s progress here.
The sweetheart and I spent last weekend in Charlotte, North Carolina to visit our friends Mo and Sam and their lovely six-month-old Dominic. It was great to catch up, eat delicious food and explore a city to which I’d never been before.  Saturday morning we woke up, had a great brunch and then went to a nearby farmer’s market, where I happened upon a pickle stand called Pickleville.  Now, I LOVE pickles.  I eat pickles all the time.  I am somewhat of a pickle connoisseur and have to say that the dill I had from Pickleville was the best I’ve ever had.  In honor of this, I left the 51st section of the poem in Pickleville!
(I and mine do not convince by arguments, similes, rhymes, we convince by our presence)
One Response to “Open Road Project: I and Mine in Charlotte, NC”

  1. Bill Averbach February 11, 2012 at 3:30 am #

    Lovely! Smiles that go on and on for more than kilometers (I want to say “smiles for skilometers” but that doesn’t rhyme).
    The wall art is gone. Thanks for taking the photo. When we moved we were instructed to remove it. I have taken on a new medium, wire.
    Stop by anytime. Love to see y’all.

Leave a Reply

