Open Road Project: Honest with you in Butler, TN

8 Dec

When I’m on a vacation, be it a month-long backpacking trip or weekend jaunt, each day I plan to leave a section of Walt Whitman’s Song of the Open Road. I might leave it in a B&B guestbook, tuck a note behind a hotel painting or write it on a dollar bill I spend at a hot dog stand. In any case, I’ll be tracking where I leave the poem here. I call it The Open Road Project.  Click on the stanzas below to find out where they’ve been left and track the poem’s progress here.

Friends, I’ve been a very bad blogger lately.  Winter and the holidays have combined to whip me in a state of either constant frenzy or total lethargy, and for that my little blog has suffered.  I’ve been in need of a centering weekend, which I was lucky to have this weekend when my sweetheart and I headed to Butler, Tennessee for relaxing and talking and eating crappy pizza and walks and making friends with strangers over fancy beer and cheesy bread.  We stayed at a beautiful little bed and breakfast in the Smokies, where I left the 52nd section of the poem.

“Listen! I will be honest with you,
I do not offer the old smooth prizes, but offer rough new prizes,
These are the days that must happen to you”

view from our window

Where the poem’s been so far:

One Response to “Open Road Project: Honest with you in Butler, TN”

  1. Sarah Burghardt December 10, 2011 at 5:50 am #

    Looks like the poem could use some West-coast action!

Leave a Reply

