Make Slovenian Cucumber Salad

9 Jan

Special thanks to Bob Schneiger for introducing me to what has swiftly become one of my favorite foods.

Some things I love: cucumbers, sour cream, red pepper, onion, garlic, salt, pepper, paprika.  Oh my, it JUST SO HAPPENS that this little list is identical to the ingredients list for Slovenian cucumber salad.  This is a “salad” like in the way that jello salad is a salad– it’s cold and it has some roughage in it.  I usually prefer my salads to contain leafy greens and not be slathered in cream, but for this salad I make an exception.  It’s creamy and garlicky and spicy and fresh, and I can only make it every so often because I promptly eat the entire recipe upon completing it.

Slovenian Cucumber Salad (adapted from Bob Schneiger’s Famous Recipe)

  • 2 cucumbers, peeled, seeded and chopped
  • 1 red pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 2 large garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • 1/4 onion, chopped
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • paprika to taste (I prefer smoked paprika to add a little heat)

Combine all ingredients and stir.

For more recipes like this one, check out the Domesticity Page.

Leave a Reply

