Grow Lavender in the Winter

20 Jan

I love having plants and flowers in the house, especially ones I can pick from my own garden.  This gets a little hard in the winter, but this weekend I noticed the Provincial Lavender plants I have growing in our front yard are still lush and green.  I decided to harvest a few stalks for a little indoor greenery during these cold dark days before spring.  As a bonus, I made some lavender simple syrup to add to hot tea, which I’ve been drinking by the kettle-ful lately.

Lavender Simple Syrup
1 cup water
1 cup sugar
2 stalks lavender

Combine all ingredients in small pot and warm over medium heat until sugar dissolves.  Simmer for 15 minutes, remove lavender and store in an airtight jar in the refrigerator.  Add a teaspoon or so to hot tea.

Leave a Reply

