Make Gnudi and Roasted Cabbage

6 Mar

I love trying new things, so it’s not terribly often I cook the same thing twice.  I do have a few standards that I know by and love with my heart, though, and last night’s dinner included two of these culinary gems– gnudi and roasted cabbage.

I’m not sure where I first heard about gnudi (recipe below), but I’m oh so happy that somewhere I did. Gnudi comes from the Italian wodk for “nude,” because they are basically the traditional ricotta filling for ravioli minus the pasta wrapper and with a little flour added so they won’t fall apart (naked ravioli).  They’re like a softer, richer gnocchi and are oh so easy to make.  I often just cook up some mushrooms in butter and wine for a sauce, but this time I used jarred marinara.

I first made roasted cabbage wedges when I noticed the head of cabbage I’d picked up for some forgotten recipe was starting to wilt in the fridge.  I’d had roasted cabbage at a friends house and loved it, so I decided to go in search of a good recipe for it.  I found one via Martha Stewart that is simple and de-freaking-licious.  I am not exaggerating when I say I could eat an entire head of this stuff.

Ricotta Gnudi (via epicurious)

  • 1 pound fresh ricotta cheese
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/3 cup finely grated Pecorino Romano cheese (about 1 ounce) plus additional for serving
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • Large pinch of ground white pepper
  • 3/4 cup all purpose flour plus additional for coating

Directions:
Line medium bowl with several layers of paper towels. Spoon ricotta cheese into bowl. Let drain at least 30 minutes and up to 1 hour.

Beat egg, 1/3 cup Pecorino Romano cheese, salt, and white pepper in large bowl to blend. Mix in ricotta. Sprinkle 3/4 cup flour over and stir gently to blend. Cover and chill dough 1 hour.

Line rimmed baking sheet with plastic wrap. Place some flour in bowl. For each gnudi, gently roll 1 heaping teaspoonful of dough into ball. Add to flour; toss to coat lightly, shaping into short log. Place on baking sheet.

Cook gnudi in large pot of boiling salted water until very tender, about 8 minutes.  Serve with whatever sauce you please.

Roasted Cabbage Wedges

  • 1 tablespoon plus 2 more tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 medium head green cabbage, cut into 1-inch-thick rounds
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 1 teaspoon caraway or fennel seeds
Directions
Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Brush a rimmed baking sheet with 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil. Place 1 medium head green cabbage, cut into 1-inch-thick rounds, in a single layer on sheet and brush with 2 tablespoons oil. Season with coarse salt and ground pepper and sprinkle with 1 teaspoon caraway or fennel seeds. Roast until cabbage is tender and edges are golden, 40 to 45 minutes.
For more recipes like this one, check out the Domesticity Page.
2 Responses to “Make Gnudi and Roasted Cabbage”

  1. Jessica Saidian (@anomaly1478) March 7, 2012 at 2:23 am #

    I am making this right now. Seriously.

  2. mackeyda March 7, 2012 at 2:53 am #

    Oooh let me know how you like it!

Leave a Reply

